NCSA Welcomes New Board, Council Members

Press Release October 1, 2019

Cleveland — The NCSA welcomed five individuals onto its board during the Association’s 118th Annual Meeting, held October 13 to 15 as part of the 2017 Candy Hall of Fame weekend, in Tampa, FL.

John Leipold, a 2009 Candy Hall of Fame inductee, retains his seat as Association President & CEO, while Mark Lozano, Group Sales Manager – Confectionery, for TNA North America, continues to serve the board as Vice-President.

Joining the board to serve three-year terms are: Katherine Clark, Capol LLC; Byard Ebling, Shankman & Associates; Matt Pye, Just Born, Inc.; Brandon Sagotz, Ferrara Candy Co., Inc.; and Barry Sokol, F&M Merchant Group.

“We are thrilled to be welcoming this diverse group of individuals to the board,” says Lozano, who chairs the Association’s Board Selection Committee. “As we continue to expand and grow the NCSA and the Candy Hall of Fame I am confident these individuals will help drive our growth.”

In addition, the Association welcomed Andrew Hintlian, of Varick Enterprises, to its Supplier Council and John Brooks, Jr., Adams & Brooks, Inc., to its Manufacturer Council.

“Both of these appointments will provide very important guidance and insights in areas that are critical to the Association as it continues to flourish,” Leipold says.

During the weekend, the Association also acknowledged the service of outgoing NCSA Chairman Joe Muck and Chairman Emeritus Mark Antonucci, along with board members Walt Freed, Margie Kelley and Eric Ostrow.

Director and council member photos are available upon request.


The NCSA, formed in 1899, is built on a foundation of Peer Recognition, Fellowship, Mentoring and Education, as a means of furthering the positive growth and acceptance of confectionery products. The Association established the Candy Hall of Fame in 1971 to recognize the lifetime career achievements of individuals in the confectionery industry. Induction is based on dedication to the overall betterment of the industry and the category.