NCSA Assumes Guardianship of Kettle Awards

Press Release February 14, 2024

77th annual awards presentation set for Tuesday, May 14, in Indianapolis

CLEVELAND, Ohio (Feb. 14, 2024) – The NCSA, an organization of individuals across all disciplines who proudly represent the confectionery category, announced today they will now administer the Kettle Awards, an annual recognition for a deserving individual working within the U.S. confectionery industry. The 77th Kettle Awards presentations will be held during a reception at the Eiteljorg Museum, located at 500 W. Washington Street in Indianapolis, on Tuesday, May 14, at 5:30 p.m.

“We are proud to carry on the legacy of the esteemed Kettle Awards,” said Shelly Clarey, President & CEO of NCSA. “The NCSA is committed to fostering recognition, fellowship, education and mentoring within our industry, and this coveted award is a testament to our values. We look forward to kicking off the first year of our leadership administering this award.”

The Kettle Awards were established in 1946 by industry publisher Don Gussow. Each year, the nominees are selected by the Kettle Awards Committee for their dedication to the confectionery industry, superior achievement in sales and marketing, education and personnel training, energy and environmental contributions, quality advancement, production and plant improvement, and research and product development. The NCSA has appointed its immediate past chairman, Mark Lozano, to serve as the Executive Director of the Kettle Awards Committee.

“We are thrilled to take on this new endeavor, and we are fully committed to upholding and championing this cherished tradition of recognition,” said Joe Melville, Chairman of the NCSA. “This year’s finalists are all dedicated members of the confectionery industry, and we look forward to celebrating them in May.”

The 2024 finalists for the Kettle Awards are John Brooks Jr., President of Adams & Brooks, Inc.; Greg Power, CEO of Las Olas Confections and Snacks; and Mark A. Tarner, President of South Bend Chocolate Company. Voting for the 2024 recipient is open to the industry. To vote, click here.

In addition to the Kettle Awards, the NCSA, which is now in its 125th year, founded and has administered the Candy Hall of Fame since 1971, which honors people who have dedicated their careers to giving back to the confectionery industry. To learn more about the Candy Hall of Fame, click here.

To learn more about the Kettle Awards, purchase tickets or register as a sponsor, visit

About the NCSA
The National Confectionery Sales Association (NCSA), formed in 1899, is dedicated to Recognition, Fellowship, Education and Mentoring. The NCSA administers the Candy Hall of Fame and the Kettle Awards. The Candy Hall of Fame was founded in 1971, and recognizes lifetime career achievements in the confectionery industry, with induction based on dedication to the overall betterment of the industry. Established in 1946 by industry publisher Don Gussow, the Kettle Awards annually recognize a deserving individual working within the U.S. confectionery industry.